Wednesday, August 24, 2011

What's Hot This Week

Meet the Solar System's Dwarf Planets

by Mike Wall, Senior Writer

For three-quarters of a century, schoolkids learned that our solar system has nine planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. But things changed nearly five years ago today.

Cosmic Crashes May Give Habitable Planets the Boot

by Staff

Long-ago collisions between clouds of gas and dust could explain why many alien solar systems have planets with strange, highly tilted orbits - and why habitable worlds may be rare in the universe, a new study suggests.

Sponsored by:
Vote Now! Best Space Stories of the Week - Aug. 21, 2011
Pluto: A Dwarf Planet Oddity (Infographic)
Best Space Photos of the Week - Aug. 20, 2011
Lost Russian Communications Satellite Found in Wrong Orbit
'UFO' Over Chinese Airport Just an Unusual Cloud
Post a Comment